Augmented Reality in the field

Digitisation with Bitnamic and AR

The future of industrial maintenance

The added value in using augmented reality is the simplification of workflows in maintenance processes by placing spatially correct overlays. The benefits have been examined and verified by user surveys. The following two scenarios have been tested with success and shall offer examples of practical relevant augmented reality application.

Ultrasonic measurement in aviation

AR Szenario 1
AR Szenario 2
AR Szenario 3

This scenario shows support capabilities of augmented reality for ultrasonic measurement tasks in the aviation industry.

An aircraft component shall be examined for material defects. An ultrasonic measurement device is used for the so called non-destructive testing. This testing method makes it possible to examine the component without causing damage to it. The scenario includes step-by-step instructions which help the user complete the tasks. Textual elements or images are superimposed on the real environment for guidance purposes such as telling the technician what actions to take or how to perform them (left picture).

During the scenario, possibly faulty areas on the component are indicated with animated markings. Those areas have to be scanned in the following steps with the ultrasonic measurement device (middle picture). After a scan, an image containing the result are superimposed directly on the component above the scanned area (right picture). Usually a technician needs to take a look on a separate display of a computer connected to the measurement device (e.g. a laptop). This necessity does not apply when using the HoloLens which leads to a more efficient workflow.

This example shows that augmented reality task support results in work simplification. Without any additional devices the self-contained augmented reality headset allows for fast task completion. A major benefit is the possibility of hands free operation. The scenario has been tested by a large number of users (including testers on the CeBIT 2017 fair) which yielded a very positive conclusion.

IoT Integration

AR Szenario 4
AR Szenario 5
AR Szenario 6

This scenario shows a possible integration of available machine data in combination with benefits of our solution.

An industrial robot is three-dimensionally visualized in front of the user (provided by Salt and Pepper). The robot is part of an industrial assembly line and it is equipped with an array of sensors. The sensor data of the robot is transmitted by the Beat Monitoring System (BMS) to our servers and can be seen on the virtual model in real time (left picture).

Error data regarding the industrial robot is synchronized with our servers as well. The user will be notified if errors occur. According to the given error event the relevant components of the virtual model will be highlighted and the error message will be shown (middle picture).

Solving the error is only possible with the help of an expert. Thus, the user can establish a Remote Service Assistance session in order to transmit the camera video stream to a remote expert (right picture). Due to the full integration, the expert can not only see the video stream but the sensor data and error message of the failing component as well. With the expert's help the error can be solved resulting in a failure free state of the industrial robot.

For the scenario, a virtual representation of a machine is utilized. In actual industrial application, direct augmentation of sensor data on real machines in place would be appropriate (see ultrasonic scenario). This way the interconnection of machine data and our infrastructure can lead to efficient support in fault-clearing scenarios.

Augmented Reality im Einsatz

Digitalisierung mit Bitnamic und AR

Die Zukunft der industriellen Instandhaltung

Der Mehrwert beim Einsatz von Augmented Reality ist die Erleichterung von Arbeitsabläufen in Instandhaltungsprozessen durch räumlich passende Einblendungen. Dieser Mehrwert wurde bereits durch Nutzertests untersucht und verifiziert. Die beiden nachfolgenden Szenarien wurden bereits erfolgreich getestet und sollen einen Einblick in den praxisnahen AR-Einsatz liefern.

Ultraschallmessung in der Luftfahrt

AR Szenario 1
AR Szenario 2
AR Szenario 3

Dieses Szenario zeigt den Einsatz von Augmented Reality zur Unterstützung eines Ultraschallmessverfahrens in der Luftfahrt.

Eine Komponente aus dem Flugzeugbau soll auf Materialfehler untersucht werden. Ein Ultraschallmessgerät wird für die sogenannte zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung eingesetzt. Das Verfahren ermöglicht die Materialprüfung ohne Beschädigungen an der Komponente zu verursachen. Die Anwendung stellt eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung für den Nutzer dar, welche diesen durch den kompletten Prüfungsprozess führt. Eingeblendete textuelle Erklärungen und Bilder zeigen dem Nutzer beispielsweise, welche Aktion im aktuellen Schritt erforderlich ist oder wie diese Aktion durchzuführen ist (linkes Bild).

Im Verlauf des Szenarios werden mögliche Fehlerbereiche durch animierte Markierungen kenntlich gemacht, welche anschließend vom Nutzer mit dem Ultraschallmessgerät geprüft werden sollen (mittleres Bild). Nach einem Messvorgang wird das Resultat direkt über der geprüften Stelle auf der Komponente eingeblendet (rechtes Bild). Für gewöhnlich muss der Techniker den Bildschirm des Gerätes betrachten, an dem das Messgerät angeschlossen ist (z.B. ein Laptop). Diese Notwendigkeit entfällt mit dem Einsatz der HoloLens und so ist ein effizienteres Arbeiten möglich.

Das Anwendungsbeispiel zeigt, dass die Unterstützung in dem Messverfahren eine Arbeitserleichterung zur Folge hat. Ohne den Einsatz von weiteren Geräten ermöglicht die HoloLens eine effiziente Abarbeitung der Aufgabe. Die Bedienung kann komplett ohne Einsatz der Hände erfolgen. Dieses Szenario wurde bereits einer größeren Zahl von Nutzertests unterzogen (u.A. auf der CeBIT 2017) und zeigte ein durchweg positives Resultat.

IoT-Integration

AR Szenario 4
AR Szenario 5
AR Szenario 6

Dieses Szenario zeigt eine mögliche Integration von vorhandenen Maschinendaten in Kombination mit den Vorteilen unserer Remote Maintenance Assistance-Lösung.

Ein Industrieroboter wird dreidimensional im Raum visualisiert (zur Verfügung gestellt von Salt and Pepper). Der Industrieroboter ist Teil einer Fertigungsanlage und mit verschiedensten Sensoren ausgestattet. Vorhandene Sensorwerte des Industrieroboters werden durch das Beat Monitoring System (BMS) an unsere Server übertragen und live auf Anzeigeelementen am Modell visualisiert (linkes Bild).

Tritt ein Fehler am Industrieroboter innerhalb der Fertigungsanlage auf, werden auch die Fehlerdaten mit unseren Servern synchronisiert. Dementsprechend wird auch der HoloLens-Nutzer über diese in Kenntnis gesetzt. Je nach betroffener Komponente des Roboters, wird diese farbig markiert und der Fehlertext erscheint passend zu dieser (mittleres Bild).

Da eine Entstörung nur mit der Hilfe eines Experten möglich ist, kann der Nutzer im Anschluss eine Remote Maintenance Assistance-Sitzung aufbauen und das eigene Kamerabild zum entfernten Experten übertragen (rechtes Bild). Aufgrund der vollständigen Integration sieht dieser neben dem Videobild auch die Sensordaten sowie die Fehlermeldung der gestörten Komponente. Mithilfe des Experten kann der Fehler behoben und der Industrieroboter in einen fehlerfreien Zustand zurückgeführt werden.

Für das Szenario wurde die virtuelle Repräsentation einer Maschine gewählt, im realen Einsatz würde stattdessen eine direkte Visualisierung der Sensordaten auf der tatsächlich vorhandenen Maschine erfolgen (siehe Ultraschall Szenario oben). Die Vernetzung von Maschinendaten und der Infrastruktur unserer Lösung ermöglicht so eine schnelle und effiziente Hilfestellung bei Entstörungsaufgaben.