At the beginning of December 2021, RealWear gave us an early Christmas present: With the RealWear Navigator 500, the US specialist for industrial smart glasses presented the successor of the RealWear HMT-1.

The new model not only received an optical upgrade, but also offers some improvements and novelties compared to its predecessor.

We have tested the RealWear Navigator 500 in practical use and this much can be said in advance: Bitnamic is thrilled.

 

 

RealWear Navigator 500 in test

The Navigator 500 is the latest member of our reference models and – just like its predecessor HMT-1, the Vuzix M400 or the Microsoft HoloLens – is especially suitable for use in industry. You can find a direct comparison of these three top smart glasses for industry in our magazine.

But first, let’s take a closer look at the new RealWear Navigator 500.

 

RealWear_Navigator_500_Hardware_en

 

Design & wearing comfort

The basic shape of the Navigator 500 is based on that of the HMT-1, but the new model presents a more modern, more slender design. The power button with integrated fingerprint sensor is on one side. The camera and display are on the opposite side, the latter is attached to the so-called boom arm. The Navigator 500 has one more joint on the boom arm than the HMT-1 so that the user can align the display according to his specific needs even better.

The RealWear Navigator 500 is characterized by even greater wearing comfort: The new model weighs just 272 grams and is thus over 100 grams lighter than the HMT-1. The workband, which is included in delivery, ensures even weight distribution. The smart glasses can thus be worn comfortably for several hours.

Unlike the HMT-1, the Navigator 500 is based on a modular concept, which means that individual components such as the display, camera or battery can be easily replaced in the future. In this regard, RealWear has already announced that additional modules will be presented shortly. This makes it possible to respond individually to different tasks and challenges.

 

Display & camera

Regarding the display, not much has changed in the Navigator 500: Like the HMT-1, the new smart glasses model has a 24-bit LCD color display with a resolution of 854 x 480 pixels and a 20° field of view. The display is thus still equivalent to a 7-inch tablet. In the course of the announced new modular components, products that can improve the quality of the display will presumably also be introduced.

What has definitely improved is the camera of the Navigator 500: While the HMT-1 is equipped with a 16 MP camera, its successor enables high-resolution 48 MP photos on professional camera level. Videos are recorded in Full HD, but with a doubled frame rate of 60 fps. Thus, smooth recordings are guaranteed.

 

Control

The Navigator 500 is also voice-controlled, but unlike the HMT-1, it also has an action, forward and back button. This is a nice addition, but it is hardly needed because the voice control of the Navigator 500 works excellently.

True to the motto “say what you see”, as our partner Barcotec puts it, the user of the Navigator 500 only has to say what he sees on the display of the smart glasses and it will be executed. Voice control also works offline and in ambient noise of up to 100 dB.

Regarding the number of supported languages, RealWear has increased from 15 to 17 languages: In addition to German, English, French, Italian, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin and Thai, Cantonese and Czech are now also available.

 

Storage & battery

The memory has also been increased: Instead of the previous 32 GB, the RealWear Navigator 500 has 64 GB of internal storage and 4 GB RAM. It can be expanded by up to 512 GB via the microSD card slot.

The successor of the HMT-1 is also equipped with a 2600 mAh battery. It is hot-swappable, i.e. it can be replaced during operation; restarting the smart glasses is not necessary.

The change itself is easier and therefore faster with the Navigator 500 than with the predecessor model: Thanks to the clip-in system, it can be quickly removed and replaced with a full battery.

RealWear has increased the battery life: The HMT-1 can be used actively for about five hours, the Navigator 500 even up to 8 hours.

 

Scope of delivery & accessories

 

The standard scope of delivery of the Navigator 500 includes:

  • 1x RealWear Navigator 500
  • 1x USB-C 3.0 charging cable
  • 1x Workband

As for the HMT-1, a variety of accessories are offered for its successor:

  • Hard hat clips
  • Head straps
  • Headphones (with hearing protection)
  • LTE / 4G Modem
  • Batteries and chargers
  • Bags and cases

 

RealWear Navigator 500 price

The price for the RealWear Navigator 500 is currently 2,350.00 Euro and thus only a good 100 Euro above the price of the HMT-1. Considering the number of innovations and improvements, this is a comparatively small price increase.

The price includes installation and support by Bitnamic.

 

 

Fields of application of the Navigator 500 – THE smart glasses for industry

With the HMT-1, RealWear has developed a pair of smart glasses specifically designed to meet the requirements of industrial environments. The Navigator 500 is meant to follow in the footsteps of the HMT-1 – and it succeeds effortlessly.

Robust, dust-proof, jet-proof, drop-proof up to 2 meters on concrete and usable at -20°C to +50°C – the RealWear Navigator 500 is ideally suited for daily use in industry. It facilitates

  • commissioning of machines and plants,
  • maintenance,
  • repairs

and can be used both outdoors and indoors (the Microsoft HoloLens 2, for example, is primarily suitable for indoor industrial or medical environments). Smart glasses for industry, such as the RealWear models, are most commonly used on construction sites, in production, logistics, oil, gas, automotive, and heavy industry.

 

Advantages of the RealWear Navigator 500

Thanks to the combination of workband and even lower weight, the new model from RealWear can be used actively for longer periods of time without pressing uncomfortably on the head. In addition, the improved, hot-swappable battery means that the Navigator 500 can last an entire workday without running out of power.

Smart glasses for industry should not only provide the user with essential information, but also make it possible to have both hands free for working on machines. The new models are designed to be used in a variety of applications. This is not the case with models that require the additional operation of buttons on the smart glasses.

The Navigator 500 has such a sophisticated voice control system that it is child’s play to use. This intuitive form of operation facilitates work immensely. Added to this is the active noise cancellation, which allows precise voice control even with 100 dB of industrial noise.

 

The biggest advantages of the RealWear Navigator 500 at a glance:

  • Robust design, ideally suited for (outdoor) use in industrial environments
  • Intuitive, excellent voice control
  • Many languages
  • Noise cancellation up to 100 dB
  • High photo and video quality
  • High wearing comfort
  • Low weight
  • Individually adjustable camera and display
  • Long battery life
  • Hot-swappable battery

 

RealWear Navigator 500 vs HMT-1 – Technical data in comparison

 

RealWear_HMT-1_RealWear_Navigator_500

  HMT-1 Navigator 500
Display 20° field of view, 1 meter fixed focus, 24 bit color LCD, 0,33 inch diagonal, also good readability outdoors, WVGA 854 x 480 px (appears as 7 inch) 20° field of view, 1 meter fixed focus, 24 bit color LCD, 0,33 inch diagonal, also good readability outdoors, WVGA 854 x 480 px (appears as 7 inch)
Audio 4 microphones with active noise cancellation up to 95 dB, max. volume 91 dB 4 microphones with active noise cancellation up to 100 dB, max. volume 94 dB
Video Up to 1080p @30fps. Codecs: VP8, VP9 and hardware encoding support for H.264, H.265 HEVC Up to 1080p @60fps. 6x zoom in HD, Codecs: VP8, VP9 and hardware encoding support for H.264, H.265 HEVC
Control Voice control only, 15 languages available Voice control incl. action, forward & back button, 17 languages available
Camera 16 MP 4-axis optical image stabilisation, PDAF with LED light 48 MP 4-axis optical image stabilisation, PDAF with LED light
Protection IP 66, MIL-STD-810G, 2 m drop test, dust-proof, water-jet-proof, usable at -20°C to +50°C IP66, MIL-STD-810G, 2 m drop test, dust-proof, water-jet-proof, usable at -20°C to +50°C
Battery 5 hours, 3250 mAh Li-Ion, hot-swappable 6-8 hours, 2600 mAh / 10,0 Wh Li-Polymer, hot-swappable
Connectivity WLAN, Bluetooth Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
Operating system Android 10 (AOSP) + WearHF™ Hands-Free Interface Android 11 (AOSP) + WearHF™ Hands-Free Interface + Enterprise features
Processor 2.0 GHz 8-core Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 626 2.0 GHz 8-core Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 662 with Adreno 610 GPU – OpenGL® ES 3.2 & OpenCL™ 2.0
Memory 32 GB internal storage / 3 GB RAM / microSD slot (max. 256 GB) 64 GB internal storage / 4 GB RAM / microSD slot (max. 512GB)
Ports 3.5 mm audio, 1 USB Type C 3.5mm audio, 1 USB Type C
Weight 380 g 272 g
Price 2,200.00 Euro (incl. installation & support) 2,350.00 Euro (incl. installation & support)

 

Purchasing RealWear Navigator 500 – is it worth it?

We at Bitnamic have tested the new smart glasses extensively and can answer the question whether it is worth buying the RealWear Navigator 500 with an unequivocal YES – especially with regard to remote service.

The increased challenges of the last two years have shown how important remote support is and how much augmented reality maintenance facilitates the daily work, be it commissioning, maintenance or repair cases.

As the developer of bitnamic CONNECT, the smart service solution for location-independent maintenance and service, it was of course particularly important to us that the Navigator 500 is compatible with our software – both on the technology side and in terms of added value for our customers. For example, interaction between experts worldwide and service technicians on site must be guaranteed, as must access to the additional modules we offer, such as step-by-step instructions, 3D Manager or manuals.

As it turned out, the RealWear Navigator is an ideal tool for remote maintenance cases. Both hands remain free for work on machines and systems, while an expert guides the service technician through troubleshooting in an interactive video conference.

The decisive factor for the audiovisual connection is the video quality. Full HD resolution with a frame rate of 60 fps enables smooth transmission, providing the expert with a clear representation of the problem.

Voice control and integrated noise cancellation create optimal conditions for fluent communication between the expert and the technician, even in noisy environments such as construction sites or production facilities.

Like the HMT-1 back then, the Navigator 500 is also convincing – a worthy next generation of RealWear.

 

Would you like to experience the Navigator 500 live? Please contact our sales team to arrange a demo appointment.

Loading...

Anfang Dezember 2021 machte uns RealWear ein frühes Weihnachtsgeschenk: Mit dem RealWear Navigator 500 präsentierte der US-amerikanische Spezialist für Industrie-Datenbrillen den Nachfolger des RealWear HMT-1.

Das neue Modell erhielt nicht nur ein optisches Upgrade, sondern bietet darüber hinaus einige Verbesserungen und Neuheiten gegenüber seinem Vorgänger.

Wir haben den RealWear Navigator 500 im praktischen Einsatz getestet und so viel sei vorab gesagt: Bitnamic ist begeistert.

 

 

Im Test: RealWear Navigator 500

Der Navigator 500 bildet das jüngste Mitglied unserer Referenzmodelle und eignet sich – ebenso wie sein Vorgänger HMT-1, die Vuzix M400 oder die Microsoft HoloLens – speziell für den Einsatz in der Industrie. Einen Direktvergleich dieser drei Top-Datenbrillen für die Industrie finden Sie in unserem Magazin.

Doch werfen wir zunächst einen genaueren Blick auf den neuen RealWear Navigator 500.

 

 

Design & Tragekomfort

Die Grundform des Navigator 500 orientiert sich an der des HMT-1, insgesamt präsentiert sich das neue Modell jedoch in einem moderneren, schlankeren Design. Auf einer Seite liegt die Einschalttaste mit integriertem Fingerabdrucksensor. Kamera und Display befinden sich auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite, letzteres ist am sogenannten Boom-Arm befestigt. Dieser wurde beim Navigator 500 um ein Gelenk erweitert, sodass der Nutzer das Display seinen spezifischen Bedürfnissen entsprechend ausrichten kann.

Der RealWear Navigator 500 zeichnet sich durch einen noch höheren Tragekomfort aus: Das neue Modell wiegt lediglich 272 Gramm und ist damit über 100 Gramm leichter als der HMT-1. Das im Lieferumfang enthaltene Workband sorgt für eine gleichmäßige Gewichtsverteilung. Insgesamt lässt sich die Datenbrille somit über mehrere Arbeitsstunden angenehm tragen.

Im Gegensatz zum HMT-1 ist der Navigator 500 modular aufgebaut, das heißt einzelne Komponenten wie Display, Kamera oder Akku können in Zukunft einfach ausgetauscht werden. RealWear kündigte diesbezüglich bereits an, in Kürze zusätzliche Module vorzustellen. Dadurch ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, auf unterschiedliche Aufgaben und Herausforderungen individuell zu reagieren.

 

Display & Kamera

Hinsichtlich des Displays hat sich beim Navigator 500 nicht viel getan: Wie das HMT-1 verfügt das neue Datenbrillenmodell über ein 24-bit-LCD-Farbdisplay mit einer Auflösung von 854 x 480 Pixeln und einem 20° Sichtfeld. Die Anzeige entspricht damit weiterhin einem 7-Zoll-Tablet. Im Zuge der angekündigten neuen modularen Komponenten werden vermutlich auch Produkte vorgestellt, durch die sich die Qualität des Displays verbessern lässt.

Was sich definitiv verbessert hat, ist die Kamera des Navigator 500: Während das HMT-1 mit einer 16-MP-Kamera ausgestattet ist, ermöglicht sein Nachfolger hochauflösende 48-MP-Aufnahmen auf Profikameraniveau. Videos werden in Full-HD aufgenommen, allerdings mit einer verdoppelten Bildrate von 60 Bildern pro Sekunde. Flüssige Aufnahmen sind somit garantiert.

 

Steuerung

Auch der Navigator 500 wird per Sprache gesteuert, verfügt jedoch, anders als das HMT-1, zudem über eine Aktions-, eine Vor- und eine Zurück-Taste. Das ist ein netter Zusatz, wird allerdings kaum benötigt, denn die Sprachsteuerung des Navigator 500 funktioniert hervorragend.

Getreu dem Motto „say what you see“, wie unser Partner Barcotec es formuliert, muss der Nutzer des Navigator 500 lediglich aussprechen, was er auf dem Display der Datenbrille sieht und es wird ausgeführt. Die Sprachsteuerung funktioniert auch offline und bei Umgebungslärm von bis zu 100 dB.

Die Anzahl an unterstützten Sprachen betreffend hat RealWear von 15 auf 17 Sprachen erhöht: Neben Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Niederländisch, Polnisch, Portugiesisch, Russisch, Spanisch, Chinesisch, Indonesisch, Japanisch, Koreanisch, Mandarin und Thai werden nun zusätzlich Kantonesisch sowie Tschechisch angeboten.

 

Speicher & Akku

Der Speicher wurde ebenfalls aufgestockt: Statt der bisherigen 32 GB verfügt der RealWear Navigator 500 über 64 GB internen Speicher sowie 4 GB RAM. Über den MicroSD-Kartenslot lässt sich der Speicher nochmals um bis zu 512 GB erweitern.

Der Nachfolger des HMT-1 ist außerdem mit einem 2600-mAh-Akku ausgestattet. Dieser ist ebenfalls Hot-Swap-fähig, sprich er kann bei laufendem Betrieb ausgetauscht werden; ein Neustart der Datenbrille ist nicht erforderlich.

Der Austausch selbst gestaltet sich beim Navigator 500 einfacher und somit auch schneller als beim Vorgängermodell: Dank des Clip-In-Systems kann er leicht herausgenommen und durch einen vollen Akku ersetzt werden.

Hinsichtlich der Akkulaufzeit hat RealWear aufgestockt: Das HMT-1 lässt sich rund fünf Stunden aktiv nutzen, der Navigator 500 sogar bis zu 8 Stunden.

 

Lieferumfang & Zubehör

 

Im Lieferumfang des Navigator 500 sind standardmäßig enthalten:

  • 1x RealWear Navigator 500
  • 1x USB-C 3.0 Ladekabel
  • 1x Workband

Wie für das HMT-1 wird auch für dessen Nachfolgermodell einiges an Zubehör geboten:

  • Helm-Clips
  • Kopfschlaufen
  • Kopfhörer (mit Gehörschutz)
  • LTE / 4G Modem
  • Akkus und Ladegeräte
  • Taschen und Koffer

 

RealWear Navigator 500 Preis

Der Preis für den RealWear Navigator 500 liegt derzeit bei 2.350,00 Euro und damit nur gute 100 Euro über dem Preis des HMT-1. Bei der Fülle an Neuerungen und Verbesserungen ist dies eine vergleichsweise geringe Preissteigerung.

Im Preis inbegriffen sind Installation und Support durch Bitnamic.

 

 

Einsatzgebiete des Navigator 500 – DIE Datenbrille für die Industrie

Mit der HMT-1 hat RealWear eine Datenbrille entwickelt, die speziell auf die Anforderungen in industriellen Umgebungen ausgerichtet ist. Der Navigator 500 soll nun in die Fußstapfen der HMT-1 treten – und das gelingt dem Nachfolgemodell mühelos.

Robust, staubdicht, strahlwassergeschützt, sturzsicher bis zu einer Fallhöhe von 2 Metern auf Beton und einsetzbar bei -20°C bis +50°C – der RealWear Navigator 500 ist ideal geeignet für den täglichen Gebrauch in der Industrie. Er erleichtert

  • Inbetriebnahmen von Maschinen und Anlagen,
  • Wartungen,
  • Reparaturen

und kann sowohl im Außenbereich wie im Innenbereich genutzt werden (die Microsoft HoloLens 2 beispielsweise eignet sich vorrangig für den industriellen oder medizinischen Innenbereich). Am häufigsten kommen Datenbrillen für die Industrie wie die Modelle von RealWear auf Baustellen, in der Produktion, der Logistik, der Öl-, Gas-, Auto- sowie Schwerindustrie zum Einsatz.

 

Vorteile des RealWear Navigator 500

Dank der Kombination aus Workband und noch geringerem Gewicht kann das neue Modell aus dem Hause RealWear über längere Zeiträume aktiv genutzt werden, ohne unangenehm auf den Kopf zu drücken. Hinzukommt der verbesserte, Hot-Swap-fähige Akku, sodass der Navigator 500 einen ganzen Arbeitstag übersteht, ohne leer zu werden.

Datenbrillen für die Industrie sollen dem Träger nicht nur wesentliche Informationen zur Verfügung stellen, sondern es ermöglichen, beide Hände frei für Arbeiten an Maschinen o.Ä. zu haben. Bei Modellen, die eine zusätzliche Bedienung von Tasten an der Datenbrille voraussetzen, ist dies nicht vollständig gegeben.

Der Navigator 500 hingegen verfügt über eine derart ausgereifte Sprachsteuerung, dass die Nutzung zum Kinderspiel wird. Diese intuitive Form der Bedienung erleichtert das Arbeiten ungemein. Hinzukommt die aktive Geräuschunterdrückung, die eine präzise Sprachsteuerung selbst bei 100 dB Industrielärm erlaubt.

 

Die größten Vorteile des RealWear Navigator 500 auf einen Blick:

  • Robustes Design, ideal geeignet für den (Außen-)Einsatz im Industriebereich
  • Intuitiv bedienbare, einwandfreie Sprachsteuerung
  • Große Sprachauswahl
  • Geräuschunterdrückung bis zu 100 dB
  • Hohe Foto- und Videoqualität
  • Hoher Tragekomfort
  • Geringes Gewicht
  • Individuell anpassbare Kamera- und Display-Ausrichtung
  • Lange Akkulaufzeit
  • Hot-Swap-fähiger Akku

 

RealWear Navigator 500 vs HMT-1 – Technische Daten im Vergleich

 

RealWear_HMT-1_RealWear_Navigator_500

  HMT-1 Navigator 500
Display 20° Sichtfeld, 1 Meter fixer Fokus, 24-bit Farb-LCD, 0,33 Zoll Diagonale, auch Outdoor gute Ablesbarkeit, WVGA 854 x 480 px (7 Zoll) 20° Sichtfeld, 1 Meter fixer Fokus, 24-bit Farb-LCD, 0,33 Zoll Diagonale, auch Outdoor gute Ablesbarkeit, WVGA 854×480 (7 Zoll)
Audio 4 Mikrofone mit aktiver Lärmunterdrückung bis 95 dB, max. Laustärke 91 dB 4 Mikrofone mit aktiver Lärmunterdrückung bis 100 dB, max. Lautstärke 94 dB
Video Bis zu 1080p @30fps. Codecs: VP8, VP9 und Hardware-Kodierungsunterstützung für H.264, H.265 HEVC Bis zu 1080p @60fps. 6-fach Zoom in HD, Codecs: VP8, VP9, und Hardware-Kodierungs-unterstützung für H.264, H.265 HEVC
Steuerung Reine Sprachsteuerung, 15 Sprachen verfügbar Sprachsteuerung inkl. Aktions-, Vor- & Zurück-Taste, 17 Sprachen verfügbar
Kamera 16 MP 4-Achsen optische Bildstabilisierung, PDAF mit LED-Licht 48 MP 4-Achsen optische Bildstabilisierung, PDAF mit LED-Licht
Schutz IP 66, MIL-STD-810G, 2 m Falltest, staubdicht, strahlwassergeschützt, einsetzbar bei 20°C bis +50°C IP66, MIL-STD-810G, 2 m Falltest, staubdicht, strahlwassergeschützt, einsetzbar bei -20°C bis +50°C
Akku 5 Stunden, 3250 mAh Li-Ion, wechselbar (Hot-Swap-fähig) 6-8 Stunden, 2600 mAh / 10,0 Wh Li-Polymer, wechselbar (Hot-Swap-fähig)
Konnektivität WLAN, Bluetooth Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
Betriebssystem Android 10 (AOSP) + WearHF™ Hands-Free Interface Android 11 (AOSP) + WearHF™ Hands-Free Interface + Enterprise features
Prozessor 2.0 GHz 8-core Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 626 2.0 GHz 8-core Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 662 with Adreno 610 GPU – OpenGL® ES 3.2 & OpenCL™ 2.0
Speicher 32 GB interner Speicher / 3 GB RAM / microSD-Slot (max. 256 GB) 64 GB interner Speicher / 4 GB RAM / microSD-Slot (max. 512GB)
Anschlüsse 3.5 mm Audio, 1 USB Type-C 3.5mm Audio, 1 USB Type-C
Gewicht 380 g 272 g
Preis 2.200,00 Euro (inkl. Installation & Support) 2.350,00 Euro (inkl. Installation & Support)

 

RealWear Navigator 500 kaufen – lohnt es sich?

Wir von Bitnamic haben die neue Datenbrille ausführlich getestet und können die Frage, ob es sich lohnt, den RealWear Navigator 500 zu kaufen, mit einem eindeutigen JA beantworten – besonders in Hinblick auf Remote Service.

Speziell die vermehrten Herausforderungen in den letzten beiden Jahren haben gezeigt, wie wichtig Remote Support ist und wie sehr Augmented-Reality-Instandhaltung den Arbeitsalltag erleichtert, handle es sich um Inbetriebnahmen, Wartungen oder Reparaturfälle.

Als Entwickler von bitnamic CONNECT, der Smart-Service-Lösung für ortsunabhängige Wartung und Service, war es uns natürlich besonders wichtig, dass der Navigator 500 mit unserer Software kompatibel ist – sowohl aufseiten der Technik als auch den Mehrwert für unsere Kunden betreffend. So muss die Interaktion zwischen Experten weltweit und Servicetechnikern vor Ort gewährleistet sein, ebenso wie der Zugriff auf die von uns gebotenen Zusatzmodule wie Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitungen, 3D-Manager oder Handbücher.

Wie sich zeigte, ist der RealWear Navigator ein ideales Hilfsmittel bei Remote-Maintenance-Fällen. Beide Hände bleiben frei für Arbeiten an Maschinen und Anlagen, während ein Experte den Servicetechniker in einer interaktiven Videokonferenz durch das Troubleshooting führt.

Für die audiovisuelle Verbindung maßgeblich ist die Videoqualität. Die Full-HD-Auflösung mit einer Bildrate von 60 fps ermöglicht eine flüssige Übertragung, die dem Experten eine klare Darstellung des Problemfalls bietet.

Die Sprachsteuerung und integrierte Geräuschunterdrückung schaffen optimale Bedingungen für eine reibungslose Kommunikation zwischen dem Experten und dem Techniker selbst in lauten Umgebungen wie Baustellen oder Produktionsstätten.

Wie damals der HMT-1, überzeugt auch der Navigator 500 – eine würdige nächste Generation des Hauses RealWear.

 

Sie möchten den Navigator 500 live erleben? Vereinbaren Sie gern einen Demo-Termin mit unserem Sales-Team.

Loading...